Old Town Bangkok: An Undiscovered Tea Salon

In a city of roughly ten million people, there are people almost everywhere you go.   Crowds of people move here and there and the din of noises ring in your ears. Bangkok is a bustling urban city.  It’s easy to just get lost in the crowd.  However, in Old Town Bangkok, time seems to stay a little more still.  If you want to escape to somewhere quiet (other than your own home) where you can spend a good couple hours, sipping tea and reading a good book,  I say go to the Bangkokian Museum Tea Salon.

In my previous post, I wrote about the Bangkokian Museum which is housed in a 1930’s house, but I have yet to tell you about the Tea Salon.  Now don’t expect something fancy with air-conditioning and wi-fi and a range of snacks.  This tea salon simply occupies a corner of one of the wooden houses.  There are a couple of tables for you to sit and a few chairs. 

What I do love about it though is that you could as well be sitting in your very own 1930’s house sipping tea.   It’s quiet and there are hardly any visitors.  When I went it was empty and the tea man had gone on lunch break being lunch time. I doubt they have a lot of customers.

 

 
I check out the teas, and they have a wide range of teas for you to choose from.  Most are Chinese tea sold in sets, but I think they also had other types tea for you to choose from.   As the tea man was on lunch break, I didn’t have the opportunity to try it though, but nevertheless, I think its a great place to go hideaway from the crowds of people and the din din of noises.   It’s so quiet in this house, you could forget you were living in a modern city.

If you’re interested, it’s at number 273 Charoen Krung Soi 43 and is open from 10.00-16.00hours.  You can also give them a call just to check in case :  +662-234-6741.  Enjoy !

 

Leave a comment